The Red Cross of Constantine

The Masonic Order of the Red Cross of Constantine

The Masonic and Military Order of the Red Cross of Constantine and the Appendant Orders of the Holy Sepulchre and of Saint John the Evangelist to give its full title, is a Masonic Order of Christian Knighthood asking an allegiance to the Christian religion.

This Order of Christian Chivalry is the only Masonic Order which gives a Christian interpretation of the Craft and Royal Arch.

Its beginnings are obscure, strange, fascinating and, to some extent, frustrating, but, suffice to say, the workings as known today were established by a Robert Wentworth Little in 1985. Its purpose apparently was the creation of a Medieval Masonic Knighthood as an honour and as a way in which a Mason could be raised into the “Upper Class”.

The Order consists of two degrees.

The first , Knight of the Red Cross of Constantine, is founded on a vision of the Roman Emperor, Flavius Valerius Constantine which is said to have led to his establishing Christianity as the official religion of the United Roman Empire.

Masonic tradition suggests that an Order was formed honouring those who showed outstanding valour on the field of battle on the day of his vision, and fifty (50) Knights became a special honour guard. 

During the degree, reference is made to the Roman College of Architects who it is said, were the direct ancestors of the Comacine Masons from whom Freemasonry descends.

The second degree consists of three points representing Novice, Esquire and Knight. Both degrees are of deep mystical significance, explaining the Craft and Royal Arch in a Christian sense. 

It should be remembered that when this Order was founded, Freemasonry was avowedly Christian, demanding that its members attend Church every Sunday if within walking distance or 50 miles by horseback. 

This Order obviously deserves great respect. It indicates how the various incidents in the history of the Hero in the Craft degree can be interpreted in the light of the Christian story. 

The Grand Imperial Conclave for Queensland consists of twenty (20) Conclaves, and was established in 1984. Prior to this it served as a Divisional Conclave of England, when 1900 E.H. Courtenay Luck was granted a patent to create Master Masons of “good repute” members.

Qualifications for membership of the Order are : financial membership of a Craft Lodge and of a Royal Arch Chapter and a belief in the Christian Trinity.

If more information is needed, and/or you would like to become a member, it is suggested that you contact one of the Recorders of a Conclave whose names and addresses are contained in the Masonic directory of United Grand Lodge of Queensland or you can contact the Grand Recorder of this Order.


Printed under the authority of Grand Committee of the Grand Imperial Conclave for Queensland.

Grand Recorder:-Owen Vickers, PO BOX 1099, Caboolture 4510

Tel: (07) 5496 7193



Brisbane Conclaves

  • Brisbane Duke of Cornwall – Stones Corner
  • Courtenay Luck – Ipswich
  • Thornton Memorial – Kedron
  • Rose of Sharon – Southport
  • Arkana – Stones Corner
  • Alpha – Beenleigh


Queensland Country Conclaves

  • Nazareth – Cairns
  • Trinity – Toowoomba
  • Bethlehem – Townsville
  • The Good Shepherd – Bundaberg
  • Capricorn – Rockhampton
  • Charleville – Roma
  • Nambour – Nambour
  • Sandy Shores – Hervey Bay

Companion Contact Form

9 + 13 =

The Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Queensland office is located at:

Masonic Memorial Temple, 311 Ann Street, Brisbane.

Please address all correspondence to the Grand Scribe Ezra.

PO BOX 10272, Brisbane 4000
Phone : (07) 3221 1911